Children of Gaza, Op. 79. Song Cycle for High Voice and Piano

Text: Michael R. Burch

  1. Prologue. Where does the Butterfly go?
  2. The Raid
  3. For God’s Sake, I’m only a Child
  4. King of the World
  5. Mother’s Smile
  6. In the Shelter
  7. Frail Envelope of Flesh
  8. Among the Angels now
  9. Epilogue. I have a Dream

Composing this song cycle was made possible by Christoph Bouthillier and Nelly Bouthillier – Den Boer
Dedicated to the children of Gaza and their parents


Dima Bawab, soprano; the composer, piano

The full text of the poems can be read and / or downloaded here, together with introductory background information: Children of Gaza – Introduction and Text of the Poems.

The full score may be copied, shared and distributed freely. It can be downloaded here for free: Children of Gaza – Partituur met Voorwerk. It will be appreciated if information about performances and / or recordings of this cycle or part thereof is sent to hallo[at][1].


[1] Please replace the [at] by @. This is to avoid spam attacks.