Variations and Fugue on an Original Theme (Vita Aeterna Variations). Version for Symphonic Wind Orchestra, Op. 62 no. 2b

Introduction and Theme. Adagio
Variation I. Allegro energico
Variation II. Tempo di valse in modo subdolo
Variation III. Allegro tempestuoso
Variation IV. Largo
Variation V. Adagio
Variation VI. Tempo di marcia
Finale: Fugue Apotheosis. Allegro vivace

The original version for brass band was commissioned by the Foundation Kunstfactor to serve as the test piece for the EBBC 2012 in Rotterdam, and has been dedicated to Roger and Madeleine Lindelauf.

The version for wind band was commissioned by Thomas Haas and Rainer Fitsch and has been dedicated to Thomas Ludescher. The greater part of the score can be viewed and downloaded here.

There are also versions for brass band, Op. 62 no. 2 (Youtube:, for symphony orchestra and for fanfare orchestra (Youtube:


Show other settings of: